The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) is a national-level medical entrance examination conducted in India. It serves as the primary entrance exam for admission to undergraduate medical (MBBS) and dental (BDS) courses in various government and private colleges across the country. Here’s an overview of the NEET exam, including the exam pattern, syllabus, and marking scheme:

  1. Exam Pattern:
    • NEET is a pen-and-paper based test consisting of multiple-choice questions (MCQs).
    • The exam is conducted in offline mode and has a duration of 3 hours.
    • The question paper is available in 11 languages, including English, Hindi, and regional languages.
    • The total number of questions may vary each year, but it is usually around 180.
    • Each question carries 4 marks, and 1 mark is deducted for every incorrect answer (negative marking).
  2. Subjects and Syllabus:
    • NEET primarily tests the knowledge and understanding of three subjects: Physics, Chemistry, and Biology (Botany and Zoology).
    • The syllabus is based on the topics covered in the 11th and 12th grade of the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) curriculum.
    • The syllabus includes topics such as Mechanics, Optics, Physical and Organic Chemistry, Cell Biology, Human Anatomy, Genetics, and more.
    • The Medical Council of India (MCI) provides a detailed syllabus, which is available on the official NEET website.
  3. Marking Scheme:
    • Each correct answer is awarded 4 marks.
    • Each incorrect answer leads to a deduction of 1 mark (negative marking).
    • Unanswered questions do not attract any marks or penalties.
    • If a candidate marks multiple responses for a single question, it is treated as an incorrect answer and attracts negative marking.
  4. Eligibility Criteria:
    • Candidates must fulfill the eligibility criteria specified by the conducting authority, the National Testing Agency (NTA).
    • The general eligibility criteria include qualifying the 10+2 examination or equivalent with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English as core subjects.
    • Candidates must also meet age limit requirements, which vary for different categories.
  5. Reservation Policy:
    • The NEET exam follows the reservation policy as per the guidelines of the Government of India and respective state/union territories.
    • Reserved categories such as SC (Scheduled Caste), ST (Scheduled Tribe), OBC (Other Backward Classes), and economically weaker sections (EWS) are eligible for specific reservation benefits.
  6. All India Rank (AIR) and Counseling:
    • Based on the NEET scores, candidates are assigned an All India Rank (AIR) and respective state ranks.
    • Counseling for admission to medical and dental courses is conducted by the Directorate General of Health Services (DGHS) and respective state authorities.
    • Counseling procedures may include online registration, choice filling, seat allotment, document verification, and final admission processes.

It is important for NEET aspirants to thoroughly understand the exam pattern, syllabus, and marking scheme in order to plan their preparation effectively. Additionally, referring to official sources and previous years’ question papers can provide further insights into the examination pattern and help candidates familiarize themselves with the type of questions asked in NEET.