Overview of the IIT-JEE Exam (Mains and Advanced):

The Indian Institutes of Technology Joint Entrance Examination (IIT-JEE) is one of the most prestigious engineering entrance exams in India. It is conducted in two stages: JEE Main and JEE Advanced. Here’s an overview of the IIT-JEE exam, including the exam pattern, syllabus, and marking scheme:

  1. JEE Main:
    • JEE Main is the first stage of the exam and acts as a screening test for admissions to undergraduate engineering programs in NITs (National Institutes of Technology), IIITs (Indian Institutes of Information Technology), and other participating institutions.
    • The exam is conducted twice a year in online (computer-based) mode.
    • The JEE Main exam consists of multiple-choice questions (MCQs) from Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics.
    • The exam duration is 3 hours, and each subject carries equal weightage.
    • The total number of questions may vary each year, but it is typically around 75.
    • Each correct answer is awarded 4 marks, and 1 mark is deducted for every incorrect answer (negative marking).
    • The JEE Main rank is determined based on the NTA scores and is used for qualifying for JEE Advanced.
  2. JEE Advanced:
    • JEE Advanced is the second stage of the exam and is conducted for admission to undergraduate engineering programs at the Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) and other prestigious institutes.
    • Only candidates who qualify the JEE Main and meet the required cutoff are eligible to appear for JEE Advanced.
    • The exam is conducted in online (computer-based) mode.
    • JEE Advanced consists of two compulsory papers: Paper 1 and Paper 2.
    • Each paper consists of multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and numerical answer type questions.
    • The exam duration for each paper is 3 hours.
    • The syllabus for JEE Advanced is more extensive and challenging than JEE Main, covering topics from Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics.
    • The marking scheme varies for different sections and may include full/partial marks, zero marks, or negative marks for incorrect answers.
  3. Syllabus:
    • The syllabus for both JEE Main and JEE Advanced is based on the 11th and 12th-grade curricula of Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics.
    • The syllabus covers a wide range of topics, including Mechanics, Electromagnetism, Thermodynamics, Organic and Inorganic Chemistry, Algebra, Calculus, and more.
    • It is recommended for aspirants to refer to the official JEE website or information bulletin for a detailed syllabus.
  4. All India Rank (AIR) and Counseling:
    • Based on the JEE Advanced scores, candidates are assigned an All India Rank (AIR) that determines their eligibility for admissions to the IITs and other participating institutes.
    • Counseling for seat allotment is conducted by the Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) based on the AIR and the candidate’s preferences.
    • The counseling process includes online registration, choice filling, seat allocation, document verification, and final admission procedures.

Preparing for the IIT-JEE exam requires comprehensive understanding of concepts, problem-solving skills, and consistent practice. Aspirants should thoroughly analyze the exam pattern, syllabus, and marking scheme to create an effective study plan. Referring to standard textbooks, previous years’ question papers, and taking mock tests can further aid in preparation for the exam.